Taking Things For Granted (II) 

Today I would like to tell another story with the same topic as yesterday. We will still discuss taking things for granted. This topic has enchanted my mind to rethink about how we should be grateful for every single thing that God provided us. Even for things that we did not realize up until now.

“If you thank Me, I will surely increase you.”

[Ibrahim, 14:7]

Today I have just done a job of accompanying some senior year high school students who were brought to Universitas Indonesia (UI) by FORKOMA UI BANTEN, a youth-led organization consists of UI students from Banten. Those high school students were granted prizes to visit UI by FORKOMA because they made remarkable essays if I am not mistaken.

The event for today was field tour to some faculties and schools of UI. I was responsible for taking some students who the main committee has assigned us to wander around my faculty, the Faculty of Humanities (In Bahasa: Fakultas Ilmu Pengetahuan Budaya or FIB), along with Debby, Tomi, and Laras who are FIB students as well.

We tried our best to explain about advantages and disadvantages of studying at UI and FIB, respectively. They were given information about majors that UI offers and the culture of diversity in UI. Some of them were truly interested and even asked some questions about the daily life of UI students and other interesting questions which you can expect from high school students.

As I watched them and tried to answer their questions, I began to realize that I have been in their position in the past. For your information, Universitas Indonesia along with Bandung Institute of Technology (ITB) and Universitas Gadjah Mada (UGM) are the top three universities in Indonesia which high school students all over Indonesia aim every year. It was also a dream of mine to be able to study at one of those three institutions, and here where I am now, an undergraduate student at Universitas Indonesia.

Today I am feeling that it is pretty normal for me to be a student at UI because it feels like a normal circumstance for about 2.5 years since I became a student there. As time flies, I began to forget how grateful I was to become a student at UI. Sometimes I even skip classes for insignificant reasons just to please myself for a while.

What if I meet the 17-year-old version of myself now? Will he blame me for taking this gift for granted? I am not sure about the answer yet. But now, I will just try to be grateful for what I am, for this gift that I often forget about its existence.

Leave a Reply

